A Criminal Defense Attorney Fighting DUI Charges in Gunnison, Colorado
Gunnison and Crested Butte are towns that are near and dear to my heart. I know them intimately, having graduated from Western (State) Colorado University in 1984. In Gunnison, there is never a shortage of activities – skiing at the Crested Butte Mountain Resort in the winter and fishing on the Gunnison River in the summer are two of my favorites. What I like most of all, though, is the friendliness and hospitality of the hardworking people of Gunnison.
Unfortunately, Gunnison is not immune to the sort of mishaps that happen anywhere else. An arrest for DUI or driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) can threaten your freedom, your finances, and even your future employment prospects. DUID arrests, in particular, have attracted public attention since the legalization of marijuana in Colorado. Everyone deserves a fair defense, and there is more than one way to beat a DUI/DUID charge in Colorado – I should know, since I have secured the acquittal of many of my clients and negotiated advantageous plea bargains for many more.
Contact a Professional
If you have been charged with DWI/DUID, it wouldn’t be all that much of an exaggeration to say that you are caught in the mouth of a lion. Colorado’s aggressive criminal justice system needs to be faced down with a defense attorney who is just as aggressive. In addition to extensive experience representing DUI/DUID defendants, I have on many occasions appeared before the Colorado Drug Court to defend clients charged with drug-related offenses. This experience gives me the breadth of understanding of the Colorado legal system that you are likely going to need, especially if you have been charged with DUID.
I limit my practice in the following areas, so that I can continue to develop the focused knowledge that my clients require:
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
What is the difference between DUI and DUID?
DUI stands for Driving Under the Influence of intoxicants (including but not limited to alcohol), while DUID stands for Driving Under the Influence of Drugs. To test you for alcohol, a police officer is likely to use a breathalyzer; to test you for drugs, the officer is likely to use a blood or urine test. In terms of the range of applicable penalties, Colorado does not distinguish between DUI and DUID, although a judge might take this into consideration when sentencing.
What are the penalties for DUI/DUID in Colorado?
If you are considered “substantially impaired” (a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher, for example), you can be charged with DUI. You can also be charged with DUID if drugs are found in your bloodstream, or if some combination of drugs and alcohol is found. First offense DUI penalties include a 9-month driver’s license suspension, 12 demerit points on your license, five days to one year in jail, a fine of $600 to $1,000, possible installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), possible community service, and possible alcohol education.
Subsequent offenses result in significantly higher penalties. A DWAI conviction (for lesser intoxication including a BAC of 0.05 or above) carries lesser penalties.
What are some of the defenses against a DUI/DWAI/DUID charge?
There are many possible defenses against a DUI/DWAI/DUID charge. Every case is different, depending on the facts. Some of the most common defenses include:
- The officer lacked probable cause to pull you over in the first place.
- The officer improperly administered the breathalyzer test.
- You had a medical condition that falsely inflated your BAC.
- Your BAC was higher when it was tested than when you were driving (if you had been drinking in your car immediately before being pulled over, for example).
Retain a Lawyer Today
My name is Mark S. Rubinstein, P.C. and I am a proud sole practitioner of Colorado DUI/DUID law. As a sole practitioner, I can afford to concentrate totally on my focus areas of practice and on my limited number of clients. I am not the representative of a mega-firm, and you will be far more than just a case number to me. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Gunnison, or if you live or work there, call me today at (970) 641-3550 or contact me online for a free initial evaluation of your case.
With nearly a quarter century of experience as a Colorado lawyer, there isn’t much that can happen in your case that I haven’t seen many, many times before. I will be more than happy to meet you at the place of your choosing in Gunnison. During my representation, you can contact me any time to discuss your case – I will even give to my personal cell phone number to make sure that you can. I look forward to hearing from you.