What Happens If I Was Arrested For DUI With A Concealed Weapon?

Categories: DUI Defense

Alcohol And Gun Or Firearm

If the police arrest you for DUI and you have a gun on you or in the car, you could be in serious trouble. The State of Colorado outlaws carrying a firearm while intoxicated. That means you could be sent to jail if convicted. Additionally, you could lose many other valuable rights and privileges all…

Read More

Can I Drive Legally After I Smoked Marijuana?

Categories: DUI Defense

Marijuana and car keys.

While there has been a wave of states decriminalizing and legalizing marijuana over the past few decades, drivers can still get into trouble when driving under its influence. Indeed, state laws are not always clear about when someone can drive after smoking marijuana. Colorado was one of the first states to legalize the recreational use…

Read More

How to Cope with Losing Your License After a DUI

Categories: DUI Defense

Losing my license after a DUI.

Seeking Advice from an Aggressive Colorado DUI Defense Lawyer Can Help Ease a Stressful Situation DUI laws run counter to many other criminal statutes. In Colorado, you can have a drink and drive legally. But you run the risk of committing a crime if you drive under the influence or drive with a blood alcohol…

Read More

How Do I Get a DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving in CO?

Categories: DUI Defense

Reducing DUI to reckless driving.

Colorado law, judges, and prosecutors take DUI or DWAI charges very seriously. If an officer charges you with such a crime you may suffer significant penalties. Some of these penalties, like an automatic DMV suspension of driving privileges, happen even before you have your day in court. If you take a plea or are subsequently…

Read More

Should I Request a DMV Hearing for DUI?

Categories: DUI Defense

Requesting for a DMV hearing for a DUI.

Getting pulled over by police for suspected DUI is never fun. For many people, a DUI stop is the first serious interaction they have ever had with law enforcement. Between the flashing lights, field sobriety tests, breathalyzer tests, blood tests, handcuffs, mug shots, and time in a cell—no matter how short—this can be a highly…

Read More

How Many Drinks Before You’re Over the Legal Limit in Colorado?

Categories: DUI Defense

Alcohol and key symbolizing number of drinks before over legal limit in Colorado.

This is an incredibly common question. Most people know that the legal blood alcohol concentration limit for drivers is .08%. If an officer pulls you over and asks you to take a breath test and that test shows a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater, buckle up—you are about to be escorted to…

Read More

What Does DUI Slightest Degree Mean?

Categories: DUI Defense

Getting to know the slightest degree of DUI.

Most of us have heard of DUI charges and understand them to mean “driving under the influence” of drugs or alcohol. Most drivers know that when an officer suspects a driver of DUI, they request a breath test and look for a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. In Colorado, if a driver…

Read More

What Are Potential Ways to Challenge a Breathalyzer Test?

Categories: DUI Defense

A woman driving under influence.

Driving under the influence (DUI) in Colorado is a serious offense. Even if this is your first DUI conviction, you could face from five days to one year in jail, a fine of $600 to $1,000, and between 48 and 96 hours of community service. In addition, first-time DUI convictions carry a driver’s license suspension…

Read More

What Medications Cause False Breathalyzer Test Readings?

Categories: DUI Defense

Man looking at breathalyzer test.

Believe it or not, some medications can cause a false reading on a Breathalyzer test. Imagine you are driving along and the police pull you over. During the stop, the officer informs you that he believes you are driving under the influence. You know you have not been drinking alcohol, and you submit to field…

Read More

What If I Fail a DUI Field Sobriety Test

Categories: DUI Defense

A woman asked by a cop to be tested.

If you have failed a DUI field sobriety test (FST) in Colorado, then chances are that you have been arrested and charged with a DUI. If so, then you should contact a DUI defense attorney immediately. There are many defenses against a DUI arrest resulting from an FST, and your first step is to get…

Read More