Your First Appearance in Criminal Court – What to Expect

Categories: Criminal Defense

criminal court

Your initial appearance can vary depending on the jurisdiction. Typically, your first appearance in court is from 24 up to 48 hours after the initial arrest.  Certainly the time frame can vary if you were arrested over the course of a weekend. As a first-time criminal defendant, it is crucial to hire a criminal defense...

Read More

What Is the Lookback Period for a DUI in Colorado?

Categories: DUI Defense

lookback period dui

Some states deploy a lookback period for DUIs. The lookback means that after so many years pass after a DUI conviction, the prior DUI conviction would not be considered when you are charged with subsequent offenses. Colorado, however, is not one of those states. Without a statute in place that lists a lookback period, the...

Read More

How to Win an Injury Lawsuit

Categories: Personal Injury

injury lawsuit

You were involved in an accident, and now you need to file an injury lawsuit against the at-fault party. You have suffered physically, emotionally, and financially since the crash occurred, and now you want to exercise your right to receive compensation. After all, you did not cause the accident, so why should you suffer? Knowing...

Read More

Do You Know the Marijuana Laws of Colorado?

Categories: Criminal Defense

weed laws

The passing of Amendment 64 in Colorado allows adults over the age of 21 years to possess and use up to one ounce of marijuana or THC. Most visitors to the state and residents are aware of this fact, but the limitations go far beyond that. Even with the possession of a legal quantity, you...

Read More

What Constitutes Evading the Police?

Categories: Criminal Defense

evading police

If law enforcement orders you to stop your vehicle – whether by flashing lights or another method – you are required to stop. When you flee from law enforcement after that request to stop, you have committed a crime known as evading the police. These charges are not minor by any means. In fact, they...

Read More

Why Do Prosecutors Offer Plea Bargains?

Categories: Criminal Defense

plea bargain

*This article was updated in August 2021.* Plea bargains are common in the criminal justice system, and approximately 90 percent of criminal cases receive one – whether the defendant accepts it is different. While some criticize plea bargaining, it does serve a purpose in the system. The process of offering a defendant a deal in...

Read More

What Happens if I’m Not Read My Rights During an Arrest?

Categories: Criminal Defense

Miranda Rights

As a United States citizen, you have rights not only during an arrest but also during a police interrogation. You are supposed to be read your rights, but the times where you think police officers are required to read you those rights may not be what the law considers “necessary.” Therefore, it is important that...

Read More

What Happens to Habitual Offenders in Colorado?

Categories: Criminal Defense

Habitual Offenders

Colorado has some of the harshest penalties for repeat offenders. In fact, the state’s habitual traffic offender law comes with harsh penalties, some of which include mandatory prison time. However, being notorious for running stop lights once a week and receiving a ticket does not classify you as a “habitual” offender. Instead, the law requires...

Read More

When are You Legally Required to Report an Accident?

Categories: Vehicle Accidents

Victim of car accident calling his lawyer.

In the state of Colorado, if you do not report an automobile accident and you leave the scene, you could be charged with a crime. A hit and run charge is one that the state takes seriously, and prosecutors will aggressively pursue these charges. Hit and run charges vary in the state depending on the...

Read More